Media Fast Update

Hey friends! As you know I’m on a media fast for the month of January. I thought I’d just share how I’ve been growing through this project so far! Preface: I should also start that my media fast hasn’t been incredibly strict. Today I allowed myself to go on social media. I have been struggling with feeling isolated and alone and it seemed a little silly to be cutting out a resource to help remind me that there are a lot of people that care about me. I also am allowing birthdays because I love celebrating people and life and I don’t think that’s a bad use of social media. Also, there have been situations where I have allowed Hulu/Netflix.

So! What has Sara been learning:

  1. I have so much more time in the morning now that I don’t sit in bed and scroll to “wake my eyes up” or whatever excuse I give. This time I have been able to consecrate to daily devotional. I use to be really disciplined and eager for this time but ironically, I lost my discipline at school (Bible school) but I am so thankful to have this time back.
  2. In general, I have less wasted minutes throughout my day. I came into this challenge feeling pretty good about my current phone manners but there are still times where I check my phone and it shapes my behavior more than I want. I keep my phone on nighttime mode a lot now and I like the freedom it gives me to not be dictated by my phone vibrating.
  3. My silent commutes to work with no radio have been a great time to actually face how I’m feeling instead of ignoring it and distracting myself with noise. I also have tried to pray during this time and it’s been so rewarding and I enjoy the silence instead of dread it. The same goes for no music at the gym, I am able to be motivated without my pump-up playlist and let my thoughts move beyond worries.
  4. Social media isn’t bad but I want to make sure my motives are good. I recognize moments I want to go scrolling and what sort of emotions are tied to it. Am I wanting to do something mindless to not deal with my own thoughts? Do I want to scroll to disconnect from the community I’m a part of now? Social media is such a great way of connecting and it’s been a blessing for me. But I also don’t want to but using it for the wrong reasons.

These are just some recent learning curves, I’m excited for the rest of the month!

Leave a Reply

